# State of Bittensor, September 2026

Research brief for the Exploit Conference keynote (Montreal, 28 September 2026).
Compiled 12 September 2026 from web sources. Every number carries a source and a date. Market figures move daily. Re-check anything marked [VERIFY] on the day of the talk.

How to read this file:
- **Primary** = the protocol's own docs, SEC filings, company press releases, on-chain explorers.
- **Secondary** = news sites, analyst blogs, community trackers. Good for direction, weaker for exact numbers.
- Where sources conflict, both versions are shown and the conflict is flagged.

Key terms, defined once:
- **TAO**: the native token of the Bittensor chain. 1 TAO = 10^9 rao (the smallest unit).
- **Subnet**: an independent incentive market on Bittensor, identified by a number (netuid). Each has an owner, miners, validators, and its own token.
- **Miner**: a participant who produces the work a subnet asks for (inference, training, data, compute).
- **Validator**: a participant who scores miners and sets "weights" (opinions) that decide who gets paid.
- **Yuma Consensus**: the on-chain math that combines validator weights, weighted by stake, into a payout. It is not a block-production consensus. It decides rewards, not block validity.
- **Alpha token**: each subnet's own token, created by the dynamic TAO upgrade. Traded against TAO in that subnet's pool.
- **Root network (netuid 0)**: where TAO is staked directly with no miners and no alpha token.
- **Emission**: new tokens minted per block and paid out to participants.
- **Sudo key**: a privileged on-chain key that can upgrade the chain or take administrative action.
- **Proof of authority (PoA)**: block production by a fixed, approved set of nodes rather than by open staking or mining.

---

## 1. What Bittensor is

**One-line version.** Bittensor is a blockchain that hosts many separate markets ("subnets") for digital commodities, mainly AI work. Each subnet pays its contributors in new tokens, based on how much value validators say they produced. (Source: About essay, bittensor.com/about; docs at bittensor.com/docs/concepts/network.)

**Founding.** Co-founded by Jacob Steeves ("Const", former Google Brain ML engineer) and Ala Shaabana (PhD, McMaster). Whitepaper published under the pseudonym Yuma Rao. Network went live 3 January 2021 ("Kusanagi"). (Blockworks Token Transparency Filing, 2026; 21Shares, Oct 2025; OwnYourMind review, Aug 2026.)

**Chain.** Substrate-based Layer 1 called Subtensor. Block production uses proof of authority (Aura + GRANDPA). Block time about 12 seconds. (OwnYourMind review, Aug 2026; Blockworks filing, 2026.)

**Roles on a subnet** (bittensor.com/docs/concepts/network, 2026):
- **Owner**: the coldkey that registered the subnet. Defines the incentive mechanism and hyperparameters.
- **Miners**: hotkeys that produce whatever the mechanism demands.
- **Validators**: hotkeys with enough stake to hold a validator permit. Default max 128 validators per subnet. They score miners by setting weights.
- **Pool**: a liquidity pool pairing TAO with the subnet's alpha token.

**Yuma Consensus.** At each epoch boundary the chain combines validator weights, weighted by stake, into ranks, trust, and incentive. Those set each participant's share of emission. The whitepaper's key design point: validators are only rewarded for weights that agree with the stake-weighted majority, which makes collusion by less than 50 percent of stake unprofitable. (Whitepaper, 2022; docs, 2026.)

**Emission split inside a subnet.** Per tempo: 18% to the subnet owner, 41% to miners, 41% to validators and their stakers. (bittensor.com/docs/concepts/emissions, 2026.)

**Separation of chain and validation.** Subnet validation logic runs off-chain in any language. Only weights go on-chain. This is what lets subnets use large ML models to validate other ML models. (About essay.)

---

## 2. Dynamic TAO (dTAO) and alpha tokens

- **Launch**: mainnet 13 February 2025, first dTAO block 4,920,351. (bittensor.com/docs/concepts/emissions; DeSpread Research, 2025.)
- **What changed**: before dTAO, 64 root validators voted on how much emission each subnet got. After dTAO, each subnet's share of TAO emission is set by the market price of its alpha token. (dTAO whitepaper, bittensor.com/dtao-whitepaper.)
- **Mechanics**: staking TAO into a subnet swaps it for that subnet's alpha at the pool price. Unstaking swaps back. Each alpha has its own 21M cap and its own halving curve. (docs/emissions, 2026.)
- **Root TAO weight**: root stake counts toward validator stake weight on every subnet, scaled by a governance-set factor. Currently 0.18. (docs/network, 2026.)
- **Root as protocol revenue**: as of July 2026, 5,403,483 TAO (47.9% of issuance, ~$1.28B) was staked on root. The root dividend stream was ~936 TAO/day (~$222k/day, 26% of emission). Cumulative since dTAO: 837,536 TAO (~$198M). (bittensor.com/releases/v441-upgrade, July 2026. Primary.)
- **Emission model churn** (a fair criticism, see section 11): dTAO price-based (Feb 2025) → TaoFlow net-flow model (late 2025) → back to price-based with a rank-based "emission gate" (June 2026, subtensor PR #2781, spec 440). (TAO Daily, June 2026; bittensor.com/releases/v440-upgrade; OwnYourMind, Aug 2026.)

---

## 3. Number of subnets

| Figure | Date | Source | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| ~32 subnets | early 2025 | Grayscale Research | secondary |
| 129 active subnets | Oct–Dec 2025 | Grayscale Research; 21Shares | secondary |
| 128 active subnet teams; 20+ core validator teams | June 2026 | Crypto Briefing quoting Steeves' roadmap | secondary |
| 89 of 128 subnets "live and earning" | July 2026 | bittensor.com/releases/v441-upgrade | primary |
| 128 subnets live | Sept 2026 | subnetstats.app | secondary tracker |

**Cap conflict [VERIFY].** Several secondary outlets (TAO Protocol, AInvest) report a "Robin τ" upgrade on 1 May 2026 that raised the slot cap from 128 to 256. But the protocol's own V440 release note (June 2026) says "Raising the subnet slot cap is deferred to a later release," and trackers still show 128. Treat "256 slots" as unconfirmed. Safe stage line: "about 128 subnets."

**Registration and pruning.** When slots are full, registering a new subnet removes the lowest by the moving average of its alpha price. New subnets get an immunity period. (taostats.io/subnets; Avark guide, 2026.)

---

## 4. Notable subnets and what they produce

Revenue figures are estimates by third parties. The SubConnect Revenue Index (Sept 2026) is the most systematic attempt so far.

| Subnet | Team | Product | Revenue / scale evidence | Source, date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| **Chutes (SN64)** | Rayon Labs | Serverless GPU inference. Developers deploy models; pay per GPU-hour or per token. Tiers from $3/month. | $4–5M annualized (SubConnect). >$1.3M disclosed Nov 2025–Jan 2026, ~$820k in fiat. Only Bittensor-linked provider on OpenRouter; implied $1.1–5.6M/yr at listed prices. Revenue buys back and burns alpha (260,770 alpha cumulative). | tao.media / SubConnect, 1 Sep 2026; OwnYourMind, 2026 |
| **Targon (SN4)** | Manifold Labs | Confidential AI inference inside trusted execution environments (Intel collaboration). | $5.5–6.0M annualized. Revenue-funded alpha buys. | SubConnect, Sep 2026 |
| **Lium (SN51)** | — | GPU compute marketplace. Customers buy compute credits; purchases buy and burn SN51 alpha. | $8–10M annualized, top of the index. | SubConnect, Sep 2026 |
| **Templar (SN3)** | formerly Covenant AI | Decentralized pre-training of large models over the internet. | Largest subnet by market cap (~$134.9M) on 25 Mar 2026. Team left April 2026; subnet now community-run. | CoinGecko, Mar 2026; The Block, Apr 2026 |
| **Affine (SN120)** | — | Competitive reinforcement learning; only Pareto-frontier models get paid. Hosts on Chutes. | ~$71.8M market cap, Mar 2026. Emissions-funded. | CoinGecko, Mar 2026 |
| **Ridges AI (SN62)** | — | Autonomous coding agents. | ~$50.8M market cap, Mar 2026. Emissions-funded. | CoinGecko, Mar 2026 |
| **Desearch (SN22)** | — | Real-time data and search for AI systems. | Named among subnets with paying customers. | TAO Daily, 2026 |
| **Hippius** | — | Decentralized storage. First subnet alpha listed on a centralized exchange (MEXC). | — | Grayscale Research, Dec 2025 |

**Ecosystem revenue totals [VERIFY].**
- SubConnect Bittensor Revenue Index, Vol. I: 24 subnets bill outside customers for **$28–35M** annual recurring revenue. 14 fund alpha buybacks from it. 15 of 24 rated "high confidence." Customers named include PwC France, Dropbox, and an NYSE-listed REIT. Two subnets out-earn their own miner emissions. (tao.media, 1 Sep 2026. Secondary but methodical.)
- A separate claim of "$43M in quarterly AI revenue" for Q1 2026 appears in TAO Protocol / AInvest. Not reconciled with SubConnect. Do not use on stage without a primary source.
- Top-10 subnet combined market cap: ~$712M on 25 Mar 2026 (CoinGecko). Total subnet alpha market cap: 4,063,148 TAO (~$962M) in July 2026 (bittensor.com V441 release). Taostats showed a lower ~$300M figure when Yuma claimed $900M (Cointelegraph, 2026). Methodology differs; say "hundreds of millions."
- Network scale: "8,000+ reported GPUs" (OwnYourMind, 2026, secondary, unverified).

**Honest scale note.** The network mints ~3,600 TAO/day (~$800k/day at $225) to pay participants. External revenue of $28–35M/yr is roughly 10–12% of emission value. Real, growing, and still small.

---

## 5. TAO supply and halving schedule

| Item | Value | Source, date |
|---|---|---|
| Max supply | 21,000,000 TAO | Protocol; taostats.io/tokenomics |
| First halving trigger | 10,500,000 TAO issued, at block 7,103,976 | taostats.io, 2026 |
| First halving date | **15 December 2025** (some press said 14 Dec; the trigger is supply-based, not date-based) | taostats.io; LedgerLife, 16 Dec 2025 |
| Block reward | 1 TAO → 0.5 TAO | taostats; Grayscale Research |
| Daily issuance | ~7,200 → ~3,600 TAO/day | Cointelegraph, Dec 2025; docs/emissions |
| Issued as of 30 Aug 2026 | 11,287,656 TAO | taostats.io/tokenomics |
| Circulating supply (exchange trackers) | ~11.28–11.33M TAO | CoinMarketCap; Coinranking, 12 Sep 2026 |
| Second halving (projected) | ~12 December 2029, to 0.25 TAO/block | taostats.io |
| Third halving (projected) | ~10 December 2033, to 0.125 TAO/block | taostats.io |
| Post-halving annual inflation | ~12–13% of circulating supply, declining | OwnYourMind, Aug 2026 |
| Share of supply staked | ~73% (Oct 2025); "70–90%" range cited | 21Shares, Oct 2025; OwnYourMind, 2026 |

Note: TAO burned for registrations is recycled into unissued supply, which stretches the halving timeline. (taostats.io/tokenomics.)

**Fair launch facts.** No ICO, no pre-mine, no VC allocation, no token sale. All TAO issued through mining from genesis (Jan 2021). Confirmed by Grayscale Research (2025), 21Shares (2025), and the critical OwnYourMind review (2026). Caveat from critics: 5.38M TAO were mined 2021–2023 with few participants and no public accounting of destination; Polychain "incubated" in 2019 and DCG invested in 2021. (OwnYourMind, Aug 2026, secondary.)

---

## 6. Market cap and price

| Date | Price | Market cap | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All-time high | $756.99 | — | Coinranking, 2026 |
| 30 Dec 2025 | — | ~$2.3B | CoinDesk |
| July 2026 (V441 release snapshot) | $236.80 | $2.67B issued value | bittensor.com |
| 1 Sep 2026 | $220.08 | $2.49B | Coinranking |
| 6 Sep 2026 | $265.35 | $3.00B | Coinranking |
| 10 Sep 2026 | $235.38 | $2.67B | Coinranking |
| 12 Sep 2026 | $222–267 depending on provider | $2.1–3.0B | Kraken, CoinMarketCap, CoinGlass, CoinGecko |

Rank: #33–41 by market cap depending on tracker (CoinMarketCap #33; CoinGecko #41; Coinranking #35), 12 Sep 2026.
Some trackers (Kraken, CoinGecko) still use ~9.6M circulating supply, which yields a lower market cap (~$2.0–2.1B). Trackers using ~11.3M issued supply show ~$2.6–3.0B. Say "two to three billion dollars" on stage. [VERIFY day-of]

24h volume: ~$200–460M spot, ~$540M futures (12 Sep 2026; Coinranking, Taostats, CoinGlass).
One-year price change: about −31% (Kraken, 12 Sep 2026).

---

## 7. Exchange listings and institutional products

**Exchanges.**
- Listed on 33–45 exchanges (Coinranking: 33; CoinGecko: 45 exchanges, 76 markets; 12 Sep 2026).
- Binance: listed with Seed tag April 2024; Binance Japan added early 2026 (secondary).
- Kraken: listed 25 June 2024 (kraken.com).
- Coinbase: TAO shown as available on Coinbase's centralized exchange from about 7 July 2026, with an "experimental" label. No dedicated Coinbase Assets listing post found. [VERIFY] (Tao Outsider, 8 Jul 2026; CryptoNewsFocus, Jul 2026.)
- Bridges: canonical TAO bridged to Solana via Wormhole (May 2026, AInvest, secondary). EVM compatibility live on the chain (21Shares, Oct 2025).

**Grayscale.**
- Grayscale Bittensor Trust formed 30 April 2024, began operations 10 June 2024. (SEC 10-Q notes, 2026.)
- Began trading on OTCQX under ticker **GTAO** and became SEC-reporting in December 2025. Jacob quoted in the release. (Investing News Network, Dec 2025.)
- Filed S-1 on **30 December 2025** to convert to a spot ETF on NYSE Arca under GTAO. Amendment No. 1 filed **2 April 2026**. Custodians: Coinbase Custody and BitGo. Transfer agent: BNY Mellon. Staking allowed only if a "Staking Condition" is met. (SEC EDGAR S-1 and S-1/A.)
- Trust held ~$7.97M in TAO as of 31 Dec 2025 (TAO Protocol, citing filing).
- **Status: under SEC review. Not approved as of 12 Sep 2026.** (Bitzo, Jul 2026; TAO Protocol, May 2026.) [VERIFY day-of]
- Grayscale Research published "Bittensor on the Eve of the First Halving" (Dec 2025) and called decentralized AI alternatives "essential."

**Bitwise.** Filed for a Bitwise TAO Strategy ETF on 31 December 2025 (one of 11 altcoin strategy filings). ~60% direct TAO, remainder via TAO ETPs. Decision was expected by August 2026; no approval found. [VERIFY] (TAO Protocol, 2026.)

**Europe.**
- Safello Bittensor Staked TAO ETP, physically backed, on European exchanges (secondary).
- Deutsche Digital Assets Bittensor ETP announced for SIX Swiss Exchange, ticker STAO (CoinDesk, Dec 2025).

**Treasury companies (public equities holding TAO).**

| Company | Ticker | Holdings | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TAO Synergies (formerly Synaptogenix) | Nasdaq: TAOX | 83,306 TAO (71,093 staked), fair value $16.8M; ~83,794 TAO by 11 Aug 2026 | 30 Jun 2026 | SEC 10-Q, Q2 2026 (primary) |
| xTAO Inc. | TSX-V: XTAO.U; OTC: XTAIF | 61,135 TAO; runs a top validator, 7.2% yield | 26 Mar 2026 | Company release via Newswire (primary). Canadian-listed, relevant for a Montreal audience. |
| TaoWeave (formerly Oblong) | Nasdaq: TWAV (was OBLG) | >21,700 TAO, all staked, from a $7M raise | Sep 2025 | Company shareholder letter (primary) |

TAO Synergies reported $11.3M cumulative unrealized losses and a Q2 2026 net loss of $9.3M, mostly mark-to-market. (10-Q, Q2 2026.) These vehicles are small and under water at current prices. Do not oversell them.

**Funds and DCG.**
- Yuma Group: DCG subsidiary launched Nov 2024. Validator, subnet incubator, asset manager. Launched Yuma Total Market Fund (TAO + subnet basket) in 2026 and a subnet fund for accredited investors in Oct 2025. (Cointelegraph; Grayscale Research.)
- Stillcore Capital (Jason Calacanis) subnet-token fund, 2025. (Grayscale Research.)
- Reported large holders: Polychain (~$200M in TAO, incubated 2019), DCG (~500K TAO), dao5 (~$50M, bought 3rd-largest validator Dec 2024). (OwnYourMind, 2026, secondary.) [VERIFY]
- Yuma publicly criticized Jacob's Root Reborn proposal (19 June 2026), a sign that DCG-affiliated entities do not simply follow the founder. (A Bittensor Journey, June 2026.)

---

## 8. The Opentensor Foundation and related entities

- **Opentensor Foundation (OTF)**: the nonprofit that stewarded development 2021–2026. Jacob was CEO from founding until **13 February 2026**, when he stepped down; Ala Shaabana stepped aside as COO the same day. Both stayed on as core developers. Framed as reducing key-person risk. (Blockworks filing; SimplyTao, 13 Feb 2026; OwnYourMind.)
- **Rao Foundation**: develops the protocol code and operates the PoA validator nodes. Jacob's current title: Core Developer, Rao Foundation. The About essay is signed "core dev @ Rao Foundation." (Blockworks filing, 2026.)
- Ala Shaabana co-founded **Crucible Labs** with David Lawee (ex-Alphabet CMO, CapitalG founder). (Blockworks; OwnYourMind.)
- **No protocol treasury.** OTF financials are not publicly reported. (Blockworks; OwnYourMind.)
- **Correction of a false report [VERIFY before anyone repeats it].** One outlet (OurCryptoTalk, 18 Feb 2026) claimed OTF "fully relinquished control" and the network "now operates entirely under on-chain governance." This is contradicted by the Blockworks filing (mid-2026), the protocol's own docs (Aug 2026), and Jacob's own 22 June 2026 essay. What actually happened in February was the executive title change. Do not use the OurCryptoTalk framing.

---

## 9. Governance: Senate, Triumvirate, sudo key

**As documented (historical / design).**
- Bicameral: a **Triumvirate** of three OTF employees creates proposals; a **Senate** of the top delegate hotkeys by stake (12 seats) votes. Execution needs 50% + 1 Senate approval and a Triumvirate member closing the proposal. Individual identities of seat holders not publicly disclosed. (Blockworks filing, 2026.)

**As actually running on mainnet (Aug 2026).**
- Bittensor's own validator docs state the legacy on-chain Senate vote extrinsic and its collective/membership pallets were removed from the runtime, and privileged operations run through a **sudo multisig of Rao Foundation keys**. An independent read of finney runtime metadata (spec 447, 15 Aug 2026) found no Triumvirate, Senate, collective, or membership pallet; privileged operations dispatch through `pallet_sudo` with one key. (OwnYourMind, Aug 2026, citing bittensor.com validator docs and on-chain metadata.)
- Taopedia (2026) agrees: "the current mainnet runtime uses `pallet_sudo` for privileged operations."
- Blockworks (2026): "only the Triumvirate, a group of entities that hold the network's sudo keys, has the ability to upgrade the blockchain."
- Jacob's own notes (project context): the sudo key "runs through Jacob."

**Plain statement for the talk.** Today, one privileged key held by a small group of insiders can upgrade or pause the chain. The chain's blocks are produced by foundation-run nodes. That is proof of authority. Everything else (mining, validating, building subnets, staking) is permissionless.

**Proposed replacement (May 2026, not yet live).**
Jacob proposed a new `pallet-governance` (Church of Rao PR):
1. Allowed proposers (OTF-controlled accounts) submit proposals.
2. Triumvirate approves with 2 of 3 votes in a 7-day window.
3. Two review collectives can delay, cancel, or fast-track: **Economic collective** (top 16 validators by smoothed stake, 60-day rotation) and **Building collective** (top 16 subnet owners by moving-average price).
4. Rollout in three phases: coexist with sudo → add Triumvirate seat elections → governance vote to disable sudo entirely.
(TAO Daily; tao.media, 23 May 2026.)

**Demonstrated centralized actions.**
- July 2024: after a ~32,000 TAO (~$8M) wallet-drain via a malicious PyPI package, OTF put validators behind a firewall and halted the chain within ~35 minutes. (Learn AI wiki; OwnYourMind.)
- SN28: OTF used root stake to crash a meme-coin subnet ~98%. (OwnYourMind, 2026, secondary.) [VERIFY]
- A reported "$28–30M insider hack by former OTF employees" appears in one secondary review with no primary link found in this pass. [VERIFY before any use]

---

## 10. Roadmap toward proof of stake and full decentralization

**Jacob's 22 June 2026 essay** (reported by tao.media, Crypto Briefing, A Bittensor Journey):
- Opening admission: "Bittensor is currently not a decentralized protocol in the way Bitcoin is. It can be, and it will be, but it isn't yet."
- Target: full decentralization in ~18 months, around **December 2027**.
- Steps named: (1) make validators active, competitive allocators of capital; (2) bidirectional / more symmetrical subnet liquidity pools (borrowing, shorting); (3) conviction-based rights for alpha holders (votes weighted by lock time); (4) TaoFlow and emissions refinements; (5) actively exclude extractive participants.
- End state: three pillars (aligned incentives, optimized value allocation, true ownership rights), then "ossification": programmatic immutability, no central control. He calls the long-run goal a "1,000-year Intelligence Federation."
- Quote: "Its total decentralization, its programmatic immutability is, and will always remain, the final goal."

**Consensus transition.** Blockworks filing (2026): Bittensor is moving "from Proof-of-Authority to a nominated Proof-of-Stake system coupled with onchain governance. Development work for both transitions is underway. The current roadmap targets the nominated Proof-of-Stake transition within approximately the next year."

**Nominated proof of stake, defined.** Token holders nominate validators; the chain selects block producers by nominated stake. It is the Polkadot/Substrate standard. It replaces the foundation's fixed node set with an open, stake-selected set.

**Shipped in 2026 toward this (bittensor.com/releases):**
- Conviction / Locked Stake (BIT-0011): subnet ownership tied to time-and-stake commitment. Locking shipped; voting half not yet switched on. (Apr–Aug 2026.)
- V440 "Emission Gate" (June 2026): idle subnets stop earning; registration cost falls toward the transaction fee.
- V441 "Root Reborn" (July 2026): root dividends become validator-curated baskets of subnet alpha. Validators publish an on-chain weight vector.
- V448 (Aug 2026): predictable root claims, safer cross-subnet stake moves, linked orders. Ownership gate raised to an 18% conviction threshold.
- V450: `set_root_weights` enabled; validators curate baskets under a 1/16 concentration cap.
- Bittensor v11 SDK with Rust core; Ledger and browser-extension signing; "verifiable upgrade pipeline."

---

## 11. Major 2025–2026 milestones (timeline)

| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 13 Feb 2025 | dTAO live on mainnet | docs; DeSpread |
| 2025 | EVM compatibility on subnets | 21Shares, Oct 2025 |
| Oct 2025 | Yuma launches subnet fund for accredited investors | Grayscale Research |
| 2025 | Stillcore Capital subnet fund; Hippius alpha first listed on a CEX (MEXC) | Grayscale Research |
| 2025 | TAO Synergies (Jun), Oblong/TaoWeave (Sep), xTAO (Jul, TSX-V) adopt TAO treasuries | SEC 10-Q; company releases |
| Dec 2025 | Grayscale Bittensor Trust trades on OTCQX (GTAO), SEC-reporting | INN |
| 15 Dec 2025 | First halving, block 7,103,976 | taostats |
| 30–31 Dec 2025 | Grayscale S-1 (spot ETF) and Bitwise TAO Strategy ETF filed | SEC; TAO Protocol |
| 13 Feb 2026 | Jacob steps down as OTF CEO; Shaabana steps aside as COO | Blockworks; SimplyTao |
| 2 Apr 2026 | Grayscale S-1 Amendment No. 1 | SEC |
| 9–10 Apr 2026 | Covenant AI exits (Templar SN3, Basilica SN39, Grail SN81). TAO −14 to −20%, SN3 −55 to −63% | The Block; Cointelegraph; The Defiant |
| Apr 2026 | BIT-0011 Locked Stake / Conviction proposed and shipped | OwnYourMind |
| 1 May 2026 | "Robin τ" upgrade; 256-slot claim unconfirmed; Solana bridge via Wormhole | TAO Protocol; AInvest [VERIFY] |
| 23 May 2026 | Jacob proposes two-stage on-chain governance | tao.media |
| 16 Jun 2026 | Root Reborn proposal; Yuma (DCG) publishes critique 19 Jun | A Bittensor Journey |
| 22 Jun 2026 | Jacob publishes 18-month decentralization roadmap | tao.media; Crypto Briefing |
| 23–25 Jun 2026 | Emission model returned to price-based with gate (releases 423, spec 440) | TAO Daily; bittensor.com |
| ~7 Jul 2026 | TAO shown as available on Coinbase (experimental label) | Tao Outsider [VERIFY] |
| Jul 2026 | V441 Root Reborn ships | bittensor.com |
| Aug 2026 | V448; on-chain metadata shows Senate pallets removed, sudo in force | bittensor.com; OwnYourMind |
| 1 Sep 2026 | SubConnect Revenue Index: $28–35M ARR across 24 subnets | tao.media |

---

## 12. Main criticisms (know these cold)

1. **"Decentralization theatre."** Covenant AI founder Sam Dare (Apr 2026): Jacob "maintains effective control over the triumvirate, resists any meaningful transfer of authority, and deploys changes unilaterally." Jacob's reply: he cannot suspend emissions; he sold alpha on three inactive subnets (<1% of what he had invested) which moved emissions "the same way all buys and sells on Bittensor do"; he temporarily removed post-deletion rights, then restored them. A community member alleged Dare dumped ~37,000 TAO of alpha on the way out. Both sides' claims are partly unverified. (The Block; Cointelegraph; The Defiant; SimplyTao, Apr 2026.)
2. **PoA and sudo.** Foundation nodes produce all blocks. One sudo key can upgrade or halt the chain, and has halted it (Jul 2024). On-chain Senate pallets have been removed. (Bittensor docs; OwnYourMind; Blockworks, 2026.)
3. **Stake concentration.** Top 10 validators ≈ 65% of root voting power; top 3 ≈ 38% (Yellow.com citing taostats, Apr 2026). Academic study (arXiv 2507.02951, Jul 2025, pre-dTAO data): fewer than 2% of wallets can command a 51% majority in most subnets; stake, not performance, is the dominant predictor of rewards. Critics cite a stake Gini of ~0.98 and "top 1% hold ~90% of stake"; largest single wallet ~1.55M TAO (~20% of supply at time of analysis). (OwnYourMind, 2026, secondary.) [VERIFY the wallet-level numbers; they may count exchange and custody wallets]
4. **Fair launch, unfair outcome.** No pre-mine is true. But early mining (2021–2023) had few participants and there is no public accounting of the 5.38M TAO issued then. (OwnYourMind, 2026.)
5. **Emissions vs. revenue.** ~3,600 TAO/day minted vs. $28–35M/yr of verified external revenue. Most subnet value is still emission-funded. No protocol-level fee distribution to TAO holders. (SubConnect; OwnYourMind.)
6. **Emission model churn.** Three allocation models in 16 months (dTAO price → TaoFlow → price + gate). Builders complain the rules move under them. (TAO Daily, Jun 2026.)
7. **Yuma Consensus is not output verification.** Validators score outputs; there is no cryptographic proof that the work was done. Reward-farming has been documented. (Yellow.com, 2026; arXiv, 2025.)
8. **Security posture.** July 2024 wallet drain (~32,000 TAO). Critics say no disclosed third-party audit and no formal bug bounty. (Learn AI wiki; OwnYourMind.) [VERIFY current audit status]
9. **Founder trading.** Jacob admitted selling alpha on Covenant's subnets during the dispute. Critics call that a conflict regardless of size. (OwnYourMind, Apr 2026.)
10. **Institutional vehicles under water.** TAO Synergies shows $11.3M cumulative unrealized losses (10-Q, Jun 2026). ETFs not approved.

---

## 13. Bitcoin comparison: a defensible framing

Jacob's note asked for a defensible version of "Bitcoin out-computes data centers."
- Bitcoin hashrate: ~1,000 EH/s (30-day average 1,004 EH/s in Q2 2026; briefly crossed 1 ZH/s in Jan 2026). (Hashrate Index, Q2 2026; mempool.space via MetaMask, Jun 2026.)
- Energy: ~155–180 TWh/yr, roughly 0.5–0.8% of world electricity, comparable to Poland. (Cambridge CBECI and Digiconomist, early 2026.)
- Geography: US 37.4%, Russia 16.9%, China 12.0%, Canada 2.6%. (Hashrate Index, Q2 2026.)
- Hashes are not FLOPs. ASICs do one thing. **Safe stage line:** "Bitcoin coordinates about a thousand quintillion operations per second and draws as much power as Poland, with no CEO, no HR department, and no headquarters. Nobody planned it. Incentives did." Do not say it out-computes Google in FLOPs.

---

## 14. Numbers most likely to go on a slide (all [VERIFY] day-of)

- 21M cap. No pre-mine. First halving 15 Dec 2025. ~3,600 TAO/day.
- ~128 subnets. ~48% of TAO staked on root.
- Market cap $2–3B. Rank ~#33–41.
- $28–35M/yr verified external subnet revenue across 24 subnets (Sept 2026).
- Root dividends ~$198M cumulative since Feb 2025 (July 2026).
- Grayscale GTAO on OTCQX; spot ETF S-1 under review. Bitwise filed. Three public treasury companies, one on the TSX Venture Exchange.
- Decentralization target: ~December 2027. Nominated PoS within ~a year.

---

## Sources

Primary
- Bittensor docs: https://www.bittensor.com/docs/concepts/network ; https://www.bittensor.com/docs/concepts/emissions
- dTAO whitepaper: https://www.bittensor.com/dtao-whitepaper
- Releases: https://www.bittensor.com/releases ; V440 https://www.bittensor.com/releases/v440-upgrade ; V441 https://www.bittensor.com/releases/v441-upgrade
- Taostats tokenomics: https://taostats.io/tokenomics ; subnets https://taostats.io/subnets
- Grayscale S-1 (30 Dec 2025): https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2029297/000119312525335992/tao-20251230.htm ; S-1/A (2 Apr 2026): https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2029297/000119312526140409/gtao_s-1_amendment_1.htm
- TAO Synergies 10-Q, Q2 2026: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1571934/000110465926095966/taox-20260630x10q.htm
- xTAO holdings release (27 Mar 2026): https://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/xtao-provides-update-on-tao-holdings-880501240.html
- TaoWeave / Oblong: https://www.taoweave.ai/ ; https://www.stocktitan.net/news/OBLG/oblong-issues-shareholder-7zhf8xq96j3c.html
- Grayscale Bittensor Trust on OTCQX: https://investingnews.com/grayscale-r-bittensor-trust-begins-trading-on-otc-markets-and-is-now-sec-reporting/
- Blockworks Token Transparency Filing: https://blockworks.com/token-transparency/filing/bittensor

Secondary
- Grayscale Research, Bittensor on the Eve of the First Halving: https://research.grayscale.com/reports/bittensor-on-the-eve-of-the-first-halving
- 21Shares, Inside Bittensor: https://www.21shares.com/en-us/insights/inside-bittensor-the-blockchain-for-ai
- DeSpread Research on dTAO: https://research.despread.io/dtao/
- Bankless on dTAO: https://www.bankless.com/read/the-dtao-upgrade
- Cointelegraph halving: https://cointelegraph.com/news/crypto-other-halving-bittensor-maturation-milestone
- The Block halving: https://www.theblock.co/post/381638/bittensors-halving-tao-price
- LedgerLife halving: https://ledgerlife.io/bittensor-marks-first-tao-halving-as-emissions-fall-and-the-network-takes-stock/
- CoinDesk Grayscale S-1: https://www.coindesk.com/business/2025/12/30/grayscale-files-for-first-u-s-bittensor-etp-as-decentralized-ai-gains-momentum
- TAO Protocol, Grayscale ETF: https://taoprotocol.org/grayscale-bittensor-etf-gtao-sec-filing/ ; Bitwise: https://taoprotocol.org/bitwise-tao-strategy-etf-sec-filing-2026/ ; Robin τ: https://taoprotocol.org/bittensor-robin-tau-upgrade-256-subnets/
- Bitzo ETF status (Jul 2026): https://bitzo.com/2026/07/bittensor-tao-etf-grayscale-sec-filing-steps
- Covenant AI exit: https://www.theblock.co/post/396959/covenant-ai-exits-bittensor-tao ; https://cointelegraph.com/news/covenant-ai-leaves-bittensor-decentralization-tao-drops-18 ; https://thedefiant.io/news/markets/tao-tanks-20-as-major-subnet-developer-accuses-bittensor-founder-of-decentralization-theatre ; https://simplytao.ai/blog/covenant-ai-exits-bittensor-full-breakdown-of-what-happened ; https://www.tao.media/covenant-bails-on-bittensor-citing-centralization-concerns/
- Jacob's roadmap: https://www.tao.media/bittensor-co-founder-jacob-steeves-publishes-decentralization-vision/ ; https://cryptobriefing.com/bittensor-decentralization-roadmap-18-months/ ; https://www.abittensorjourney.com/p/navigating-bittensor-june-2026
- Governance proposal: https://taodaily.io/church-of-rao-calls-for-broader-community-input-as-bittensor-redesigns-on-chain-governance/ ; https://www.tao.media/inside-bittensors-proposed-decentralized-governance-system/ ; https://taopedia.org/wiki/sudo/
- Emission model changes: https://taodaily.io/how-bittensor-rebuilt-its-core-economics-across-three-releases/
- Root Reborn: https://simplytao.ai/blog/bittensor-root-reborn
- Subnet revenue: https://www.tao.media/subconnect-announces-first-bittensor-revenue-index/ ; https://taodaily.io/the-subnets-with-actual-paying-customers-yes-they-exist/ ; https://ownyourmind.ai/tokenomics/bittensor-subnets-where-the-revenue-is/ ; https://www.coingecko.com/learn/top-bittensor-subnets-dtao ; https://bittensor.ai/subnets/64
- Criticism: https://arxiv.org/pdf/2507.02951 ; https://yellow.com/research/bittensor-tao-decentralized-ai-investment-thesis-2026 ; https://ownyourmind.ai/projects/bittensor/
- Yuma / DCG: https://www.tradingview.com/news/cointelegraph:27f666714094b:0-dcg-backed-yuma-launches-fund-offering-institutional-exposure-to-bittensor/ ; https://www.supercyclepod.com/p/how-yuma-is-building-taos-acceleration
- Exchanges: https://www.kraken.com/prices/bittensor ; https://www.taooutsider.com/blog/coinbase-bittensor-tao-market-access/
- Market data (12 Sep 2026): https://coinranking.com/coin/pgv7xSFi6+bittensor-tao/historical-data ; https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/bittensor/ ; https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/bittensor ; https://www.coinglass.com/currencies/TAO/spot
- Bitcoin scale: https://hashrateindex.com/blog/global-hashrate-heatmap-update-q2-2026/ ; https://coinlaw.io/cryptocurrency-mining-statistics/ ; https://metamask.io/news/how-bitcoin-mining-works
- History: https://ai.miraheze.org/wiki/Bittensor
